Wednesday, 24 May 2017

Asteroid named in honour of Ireland’s Cormac Larkin

BT Young Scientist & Technology participant, Cormac Larkin, who is a 6th year student from Colaiste Spioraid Naoimh in Cork scooped up two prestigious prizes this weekend at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) in Los Angeles.

His project “Case Study of Data Mining in Observational Astronomy: The Search for New OB Stars in the Small Magellanic Cloud” proved to be an immense success at the international science competition. Larkin’s research was awarded thePriscilla and Bart Bok First Award by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific and American Astronomical Society, and awarded Second Place in Physics and Astrophysics by Intel ISEF Grand Awards Panel. In recognition of his contribution to the field, Larkin will have an asteroid named in his honour and an opportunity to present his research early next year at the American Astronomical Society winter meeting, as well as a substantial monetary prize for both awards. The sky truly is the limit for this young scientist.

Intel ISEF is the world’s largest international pre-college science competition, with approximately 1800 high school students from more than 75 countries, regions, and territories competing in the event. This international recognition of his work is a continuation of the success he enjoyed at the BT Young Scientist & Technology Exhibition 2017, where he scooped the top prize in the Chemical, Physical and Mathematical Science category finishing in the Top 4 in the overall competition.

Last year, the BTYSTE recorded the highest ever number of entries proving that the popularity of the exhibition and engagement in STEM events is growing year on year.

This year’s BT Young Scientist & Technology Exhibition will take place from the 10th-13th of January 2018 at the RDS, Dublin. The exhibition offers one of the most coveted awards for participants, with a substantial prize fund and the BTYSTE perpetual trophy, as well as over 140 prizes for individuals, groups and teachers. In addition, the overall winner will represent Ireland at the European Union Contest for Young Scientists in 2018.